The “purpose” behind moving from Lampion to Defining Moments

Fourteen years ago this week, I left a career in corporate communications to start Lampion Consulting, with only the haziest notion of what it would be like or what it would take. I just knew that I wanted to learn more, do more, offer more and perhaps discover where the road might lead when you are the one laying the asphalt. Along the way, I have had the pleasure of serving an amazing range of clients. While most of my engagements started with some kind of communications issue, they often evolved into coaching relationships – formally or informally. We first focused on an outcome they wanted to achieve, but most often it lead to a bigger exploration of what purpose they saw for their lives, career and business. Those purposes are never so important as when they are tested—or discovered—during what I have always called “defining moments.”

Along the way, I learned my own purpose: To help leaders anticipate, appreciate and make the most out of these defining moments, because the decisions they make, the words they speak, and the qualities they exhibit at these times can truly shape them and others around them.

We are all much more aware of this thing called purpose than just a few years ago, but I find that it has moved to the center of what I do today with clients, whether that is sorting through a complex communications challenge, helping a team win a major contract, or guiding an executive through a period of difficulty or growth.

So, I am turning my business down a road that has been under construction for a while now. My practice will center on coaching senior executives – bringing in outside perspectives to their challenges and guiding them through a process of personal growth. The communications work that has been my touchstone all these years – messaging, prepping people for presentations, tackling complex communications issues – is still very much a part of that, but now with the clear mission of making sure all that communications also says something about your purpose. When people understand your purpose, it brings more meaning, perspective and context to everything you do and say. When your purpose is clear, a lot of things clear up with it.

As part of this, I am changing the name of my business, because it is the right time to do so. “Lampion” (a Renaissance Era reading lamp, also a pathway light) spoke to what I felt I offered to clients – helping them see issues and directions in a new light. “Defining Moments” speaks of you, and what can make you special, impactful and enduring as a leader when your purpose is clear to you and others.

People are drawn to people of purpose. If you have not really thought through what yours is, or think it is time to re-think it, I look forward to having you join me on the road ahead.

Learn more at http://www.definingmoments.me

About paulheagen

I am an executive coach, advisor and confidant who helps leaders better understand, refresh or redirect their purpose in their business and personal lives. Over my 35-year career as a corporate executive, communications consultant and trusted advisor, I have guided executives through “defining moments” – those unique times when the decisions they make, the words they speak, and the qualities they exhibit can influence not only the destiny of their organization but also their own lives and careers. When it comes to my clients and my life work, I am ferociously passionate and restlessly inquisitive about uncovering the unique dreams, vision and purpose that lead to exceptional leadership.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

